Tusten, formed in 1853, was named for Benjamin Tusten, who was killed in the Battle of Minisink, 1779. History, outdoor recreation and the arts provide the fabric for this community. Central to the town is the hamlet of Narrowsburg, which over looks the widest and deepest eddy in the entire 330-mile long Delaware River. Here bald eagles soar overhead to the extent that Narrowsburg has been dubbed the Eagle Capital of New York State and hosts an annual Eagle Fest every January.
Narrowsburg is also reowned for its vibrant cultural scene, hosting the headquarters of the Delaware Valley Arts Alliance and Delaware Valley Opera. Explore the frontier past as Sullivan County’s Fort Delaware Museum of Colonial History, hike Tusten Mountain Trail located adjacent to the Ten Mile River Scout Camps or raft down the Delaware River.
Highland was formed from Lumberland on December 17, 1853, the same date the town of Tusten was formed, making them the 13th and 14th Sullivan County towns. It is in the southwest portion of the county and its southern border is the Delaware River. The Revolutionary War Battle of Minisink, at which a group of Indians and Tories under the command of Colonel Joseph Brant routed a samll contingent of Colonial militia, took place within the town's borders on July 22, 1779.
The Delaware & Hudson Canal, opened in 1828, entered New York State in the town of Highland, and the canal's Delaware Aqueduct, designed and built by John A. Roebling in 1848, has been completely restored by the National Park Service as a historic landmark. It is used today as a motor vechicle bridge, and is known as the Roebling Bridge, the oldest wire rope suspension bridge in the world.
Highland is today the year around home to a growing population of bald eagles. Its principal hamlets include Eldred, Yulan, Barryville, Minisink Ford and Highland Lake.
©2007-16 The Upper Delaware Scenic Byway • PO Box 127 • Narrowsburg, NY 12764 • firstname.lastname@example.org
Website by: W Design