Route 97 Winter on Route 97 in Sparrowbush, NY.
Fifteen million people draw water from the Delaware River and its 216 tributaries.

The Town of Deerpark

The Town of Deerpark is a rural town in the southwestern corner of Orange County, comprised of seven Hamlets; Cahoonzie, Cuddebackville, Godeffroy, Huguenot, Rio, Sparrowbush and Westbrookville. Nestled among lakes, streams, rivers and mountains, bounded by the Delaware, Mongaup and Neversink Rivers, the Shawangunk Mountains, also know as the “Gunks,” and the wetlands of the Basha Kill the Town of Deerpark offers a variety of geographical features.

hawks nest photo
One of the most spectacular views along the Byway is Hawk'´s Nest Drive. A winding section hanging on the hillside from walled foundations and pull-offs for fabulous photo opportunities.

Star struck on the silver screen

During the period of 1895 to 1910, New York City was the capital of film production and distribution. It seems only natural for New Yorkers to travel to these parts today. The rich beauty of the area has long drawn visitors to capture the surrounding with pen to paper, photographs and film. Many aren't aware the impact the area had on the silent film industry. In the early 1900s, D.W. Griffith and the American Biograph Company chose these parts to feature films with stars like Mary Pickford, Mabel Normand and Mack Sennett. The Natural scenery and the growing industries at the time; the canal and railroad served as backdrops for the films. The Victor Film Company, with Florence Lawrence and the Pathe Freres Company with Pearl White (star of The Perils of Pauline) stayed in 1912. In 1913, a small film company named GEM also filmed in the region. It appears that over 20 silent films were captured here.

On the left Hugueont school and below the canal at NVAM.Today, automakers BMW, Saab, Cadillac and Honda have used the Hawk´s Nest section of the highway to film television commercials.

Sparrowbush

Named for H.L. Sparrow, a dealer in ship-knee timber, who rafted down the Delaware River to Philadelphia the shipyards in the early 1800s. The land had originally been names Sparrow´s “Bosh,” meaning Sparrow´s sloping thicket or woods. Over the years it changed to its present name, Sparrowbush.The Sparrowbush Fishing Access at Hook Road allows boat and fishing entering to the Delaware River.

Cuddebackville

Named for William Cuddeback, a colonel in the War of 1812 and a descendant of one of the first families, is also home to the Neversink Valley Area Museum. Canal life was what built the hamlet

Revising History

The whole region has much history, as an ongoing effort to recognize and revitalize the stories of our communities the Neversink Valley Area Museum, in Cuddebackville, a visitor can learn about the building of the D&H Canal by viewing the exhibits or search through the library collection of maps, photographs and letters on the topic. screen legendsInformation and artifacts on the history of farming, blacksmithing and carpentry of the region are also available. The D&H Canal Park features the only remaining watered section of the canal for summer boat rides. Also, enjoy activities such as walking and birdwatching at the park. Creative lectures and blearing experiences are offered to guests and school groups about the Lenni Lenape Indians.

The Museum has a fantastic selection of classic silent movies that were filmed in the area. Call or check their website for shows and other events.

Neversink Valley Area Museum
26 Hoag Road (off Route 209)
Cuddebackville 12729
845-754-8870

Open:
April—December
Thursday—Sunday, 12pm —4

The Park is open from dawn to dusk daily.


For more information about the Town of Deerpark visit: www.townofdeerpark.org

Upper Delaware Scenic Byway - Sections color chart Southern Gateway Section of the Upper Delaware Scenic Byway Lower Section of the Upper Delaware Scenic BywaysMid Section of the Upper Delaware Scenic BywayUpper Section of the Upper Delaware Scenic Byway Northern Gateway of the Upper Delaware Scenic Byway